International travellers could be at risk of malaria infection in 91 countries around the world, mainly in Africa, Asia and the Americas. Each year, WHO (World Health Organisation) releases International Travel and Health, a comprehensive and up-to-date guide regarding the prevention and treatment of all diseases potentially affecting travellers. The publication is aimed at health practitioners and national disease control centres, and includes information about the geographical distribution of malaria, epidemiological details for all malaria-endemic countries, and all recommended preventive measures. Always check with your health practitioner before travelling to any of these countries.

Risk of Malaria is present in the following countries

Afghanistan Angola Bangladesh Belize
Benin Bhutan Bolivia Botswana
Brazil Brunei Darussalam Burkina Faso Burundi
Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Central African Republic
Chad China Colombia Comoros
Congo – Democratic Republic Congo – Republic Côte d’Ivoire Cyprus
Djibouti Dominican Republic Ecuador El Salvador
Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia French Guiana
Gabon Gambia Ghana Greece
Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana
Haiti Honduras India Indonesia
Iran Kenya Korea – North Korea – South
Laos Liberia Madagascar Malawi
Malaysia Mali Mauritania Mayotte
Mexico Mozambique Myanmar | Burma Namibia
Nepal Nicaragua Niger Nigeria
Oman Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea
Peru Philippines Rwanda São Tomé & Príncipe
Saudi Arabia Senegal Sierra Leone Solomon Islands
Somalia South Africa South Sudan Sudan
Suriname Swaziland Tajikistan Tanzania
Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Uganda
Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Western Sahara
Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s